District 1

Perry County Alabama district one is represented by Commissioner Albert Turner, Jr. The district is 235 square miles of Perry County’s 724 square miles. The district reaches from East Perry County across the city of Marion into West Perry County. The total population of the district is 2,427 residents. The total racial breakdown of district one is as follows: Caucasian 376, African American 2, 037, and others 20. The registered voters in the district consist of 2,045 voters of which 820 African American males, 977 African American females, 127 Caucasian males, and 121 Caucasian females. District One registered voter racial breakdown is 87% African American, 12.9% Caucasian, and .01% other.

In the boundary of District One, you will find the Perry County Highway Department, Francis Marion High School, Albert Turner Sr. Elementary School, historic Lincoln Normal High School, the birth place of Alabama State University, and many more historic landmarks. The district has 95% of all public roads paved, 97% of the district has access to the public water system currently and after the completion of a 3 million dollar USDA grant for water expansion 99% of the district will have access to public water.

There have been several projects that have been completed during the terms of Commissioner Turner in the district. The new bridge construction on Atkins-Norfleet Rd, the new bridge on Oak Grove Church Rd, the repaving of the Jenkin Bryant Rd, the construction of the storm shelter at the West-Perry East Hale Fire Department and the addition of 900,000 of new road equipment, are just a few of the accomplishments of Commissioner Turner in District One.

There are several projects for the district that are on the horizon for District One and Perry County. 2.8 Million Community Center/Community Shelter at the high school, new homes through our Self Help Housing Program, new road construction on Bates Rd, Co. Rd 24 and Sand Rd to name just a few of the projects that are in the making.

Comments are closed.